KC University Team has won the Futsal competition organized by the Society of Nepalese Students in South Korea (SONSIK) among the students studying in Korea.


A total of eight teams participated in the competition and KC University Team and Ajou University Team entered the finals. KC University Team defeated Ajou University Team by two goals to one in a penalty shoot-out to secure the title. Along with the title, the KC University Team received 200,000 Korean Won in cash, trophies, medals, and certificate while Ajou University Team received 100,000 Korean Won in cash along with medals and certificates.

Mr. Nishan Karki from KC University won the title of Player of the Tournament, Mr. Karun Gyawali from Ajou University won the title of Man of the Match, and Mr. Rupak Nepali also from Ajou University won the title of Best Goalkeeper. Along with the titles, the players received trophies and certificates. The competition was conducted by international referee Peterson.

The following teams, KC University Team, Ajou University Team, Kwangwoon University, Yeungnam University Team, Mokpo National University Team, Wonkwang University Nepalese Club, Club, Sungkyunkwan University Team, and Jeonbuk National University Team participated in this competition which was successfully held on November 8th at Hanbat Futsal Jongak Ground in Daejeon, and the teams were sponsored by SENTBE Remittance and supported by Daejeon International Center and GIST.

Despite having a total of eight teams participating in the competition, at least 90 Nepalese students studying at more than 25 universities in Korea were participating, said Ashwini Dhakal, the coordinator of the competition.

The inauguration and Award distribution program was conducted by the SONSIK secretary Mr. Tonking Bastola. The event was well organized with the technical and managerial support of Dr. Puran Chhetri and SONSIK Sports Coordinator Mr. Santosh Lamichhane. The President of the Nepalese Students’ Society in South Korea, Mr. Rajaram Shrestha mentioned the presence of encouraging senior Dr. Vinayak Bhandari, Dr. Indira Tiwari, Mr. Keshav Thapa, Mr. Prakash Devkota among others. He also said that the program was successfully completed as planned. Finally, he thanked all the supportive individuals for their direct and indirect support in making the program a success.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe for our email newsletter